Throughout the year, we will be giving you the opportunity to get to know the students in the cohort and learn about the program through them. Our hope is that through learning our stories, you can gain an understanding of the dynamic group of people that form a part of this program and see how you may fit into a cohort like ours in the future.

I will start us off by introducing myself, my name is Tiffany, and I am one of the main contributors to this blog. Feel free to contact me about the program throughout the year, I am excited to get to know you and see if this program is right for you.

860880_10151311648062205_1742690881_o

Name: Tiffany Alicia Lumley
Hometown: Plymouth, Michigan
Undergraduate Degree: Psychology and Spanish, with a minor in Organizational Leadership

Extra-curricular Activities: Psi Chi National Honor Society, Hispanic Youth Leadership Development Group, Study Abroad: Buenos Aires, Argentina, after school tutor and Bible Study Leader

Why MAM-SSM: After a year serving with the Lutheran Volunteer Corps, I realized my love for working with others, creating organizational solutions, as well as, my lack of hard skills to contribute to making a significant social impact. I’ve always said “I know what I want to do, I just don’t know what it’s called.” After a web search, I found out, it was called MAM-SSM. As a non-business major driven by experiential learning and everything practical, the learning style seemed to fit my personality perfectly (working in teams, less time in class and more time talking with people). My decision to pursue this program was confirmed after I read David Batstone’s book Not For Sale and realized the instrumental role business skills can play in social change efforts.

Favorite thing(s) about Seattle: I love that I can drive 30 minutes and find a beautiful place to hike, I love the coffee shops, the fact that when the mountains come out from under the clouds its like I’m seeing them for the first time and finally, being part of a community that is passionate about creating change through action.

Other fun facts: Spanish was my first language, although I grew up in the USA. Half of my family live in Mexico and I go there whenever I get the chance. It is home to me.

Future Goals (career and otherwise): I hope to be on the people-side of business. To contribute to people both loving, thriving at and being challenged in their jobs. I would love to become a career coach in the future and ultimately to be able to play a role in ending Human Trafficking through education and awareness.

Thanks for reading, stay tuned to meet the students I have the pleasure of learning with this year!

Tiffany

One thought on “Meet a Student: Tiffany Lumley

  1. Tiffany, you rock! Thanks for introducing yourself to us. I am excited to meet the rest of the cohort.

Leave a Reply

