Hi there! On this blog, we will be spotlighting all the students from this year’s cohort throughout the year. If you feel that you would connect well with one of us in particular, please contact us, and we will put you in touch with that person or even myself.

 Rebecca McInnis

Name: Rebecca Jane McInnis
Hometown:
 Brandon, Mississippi (Yep, you read that right. I’m from down South in Mississippi, though few would ever suspect it because I lack the Southern twang even after living there all my life.)
Undergraduate Degree:
 B.S. in Political Science and Journalism

Extra-curricular Activities: You name it, and I have probably done it. During my undergraduate studies, I was extremely active in Student Government, the honor society (Phi Theta Kappa and Golden Key), Phi Alpha Delta, a campus ambassador, and a student campus recruiter. I also had the good fortune of studying abroad three times to London, Berlin, and Quebec City.

Rebecca's Study Abroads

Why MAM-SSM: I debated about moving out to Seattle for grad school; however, I decided to join this amazing program. I had a two-year internship with the State of Mississippi in the Department of Finance and Administration, and there I learned how vital it is to have a business background. After touring SPU and meeting the faculty I knew that MAM-SSM would be the perfect fit because the staff cares, and you are not a number in a class. One of the key elements to this program is the professional development portion where you learn so much about yourself and things ranging from résumés to interviewing skills. Also, having studied abroad three times in undergrad going getting to travel to Asia sounded phenomenal.  

Future Goals (career and otherwise): I was a recruiter all through my undergraduate years, and I have gotten the opportunity to continue to do so in my graduate studies. With my recruiting background, I have decided upon entering the recruiting world after graduation. I would love to go into Talent Acquisition for a large company either domestically or internationally. I have always enjoyed getting to meet and build relationships new people and traveling, so recruiting is a perfect career fit for me.

How I Spend My Free Time: I am a huge traveler! I love to take road trips and explore new places. I also love reading, being outdoors-whether it be gardening or playing sports, and baking!

Favorite Thing about Seattle: Seeing that I am still new to the city, I love getting to explore everything that the city has to offer. However, I absolutely love going to Gas Works Park or out to Elliot Bay to watch the boats go by.

Gas Works Park

My favorite thing to do as a child: When I was growing up, my favorite thing to do was go clean. I was one of those children who was obsessed with being organized, and I still am to this day.

Favorite moment this year: I have had an absolutely amazing year! I graduated the highest of my degree in May. This summer, I was able to work for the National Student Leadership Conference where I worked on the campuses of Georgia Tech and Harvard Medical School. And to finish off a great year, I took an amazing trip from Mississippi all the way to the Pacific Northwest for my move to Seattle.

Favorite Quote: “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~Mark Twain. I believe you should always try new things, and in life you should explore your dreams to discover just where life will take you.

Thanks for reading and learning a little bit about me now! Until next time!

~Rebecca

Leave a Reply

