Hello Friends!

My name is Lauren Cosgrove. I love dance, art, travel, and anything turquoise. If I could fit a piano in my purse I would carry it with me wherever I go. I wish I could see every country and learn every language. I change my outfit at least five times a day depending on my mood. I think that business has a powerful part to play in addressing the many challenges of international development. And I love the Lord with all of my heart, soul, mind and strength, and he is my joy.

laurencosgrove

Here is a little bit more about me:

Hometown: Spokane, WA

Undergraduate Degree: B.A. Global Development

Extracurricular Activities: Classical Piano, Irish Dance, Lindy Hop, Latin Ballroom, Dorm Leadership, Nannying, Church Activities and Childcare

Why MASSM: As a part of my undergraduate studies of poverty and international development I had the opportunity to participate in a Seattle Pacific University’s Social Venture Business Plan competition. My enterprise, “MboTek”, addressed the need for sanitation services in order to prevent diseases related to water contamination in rural Uganda. “MboTek” built above-ground latrines at rural schools and community centers that composted waste into a completely safe, usable crop fertilizer. Ultimately, this experience gave me a chance to see how business and international development can intersect for the benefit of people in need and inspired me to learn more about it.

I chose to participate in the MASSM program exactly one week before my undergraduate graduation because I wanted to learn more about business and how I could use it to serve people. The hard management skills that I am learning in this graduate program perfectly mesh with my liberal arts studies of global development, enabling me to be more effective in my future work.

Future Goals: After completing the MASSM program this spring, I hope to begin my career in the broader field of global health as a marketing and commercialization professional in an organization or social enterprise that develops simple and innovative health technologies for people in need. Ultimately, I want to start my own social enterprise, possibly something similar to what I did prior.

My Favorite Thing About Seattle: There is always something new to see and experience! I love the diversity here, the beautiful mountains, being near the water…everything. As a Pacific Northwest Girl at heart, this is my place.

Favorite Quote: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”   -Matthew 11:28-30-

One thought on “Student Spotlight: Lauren Cosgrove

Leave a Reply

