It’s hard to believe we are at this point in the program. finishing up our practicums and picking up our caps and gowns. We are also immersed in the job application process, applying, interviewing for and most importantly, ACCEPTING jobs (that’s right, three employed students to date!).

1525362_10151797442047105_1055894550_n

As we look towards our next steps in our career, it’s time to synthesize our reflections and lessons learned throughout the year (and our life) to assess the roles, companies and the ways we seek to adjust our goals for the future. Since this can be quite intimidating, thankfully we are not doing this alone!

We have the constant support of those in our cohort, to calm us down before interviews and reassure us when we do not have any to go to. Not only that, but Daniel Hallak (our career coach) is hard at work connecting us to employers, calling in as a reference and continually sending us job leads. Also, he is there when we have the first interview (and the second and third etc.), and when the job offer comes through. Not to mention the impending Quarter Life Crisis that seems to be contagious at this time of year.

Personally, this process has been quite a journey. Through it all, it has been important for me to remember a couple of things:

 

1. I will not get my dream job right off the bat: instead of looking at roles for what they are right now, I am looking at them for what they could be. Who are the people that I will be surrounded with, what opportunities will I have to grow and develop and how can my skills meet the needs of the team right now.

 

2. If I do not get the interview/job it does not mean I’m not qualified: it is so easy to take the job search process to heart and internalize ideas that we are not good enough or will never find the right role. We forget that if an employer thought we would not be a good fit for the position, there is a good chance we would not have like it either. Instead of looking at a closed door as a slap in the face, I look at it as a nudge that will lead me to the place that I will thrive to our greatest potential.

 

3. It will be okay: yes, it is intimidating looking at the future and not knowing what is next. But spending my days stressing about the future is no more productive. It is for this reason it has been essential to have a plan, what are the steps I need to take to be diligent in my search? When I complete those each day, I let go of control and trust that things will work out.

 

I have learned so much this year and I look forward with excitement for this next step.

Stay tuned to hear about the final stages of our journey.

Tiffany

 

Leave a Reply

