20130614_164758
Name: Juliana Bassit Lavorini
Hometown: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Undergraduate Degree: B.A. in International Relations from PUC-SP (Brazil)
Interests:
World travel – meeting new people and exploring different cultures, foods, histories and natural environments!
Sustainability
Animals, all of them, including my pups Vicky and Simba
Photography
Outdoor activities
Why the MAM-SSM program: During my undergraduate, I became passionate about finding solutions for global issues, especially those related to environment protection and wildlife conservation. I joined this program because I believe businesses have a great impact on these issues and I want to enhance my ability to contribute to this impact in a more powerful way, through a deeper knowledge of sustainability and responsible business tools. This is already becoming concrete with the MAM-SSM internship opportunity for next quarter: a real consulting practicum in the sustainability department at REI! Not to mention that the program offered a study abroad to China and India, which was a great complement to my international background.
Future Goals: Finding a meaningful job in the Sustainability field that gives me the opportunity to fulfill my passion for environmental protection and conservation through responsible business. For a longer-term plan, opening my own sustainable hotel in the northeast of Brazil – and hosting a reunion party for the 2015 cohort!
A unique story: All my travel stories are unique to me, but perhaps the most remarkable one was my first big travel and backpack experience in Australia. I moved to Perth, in the West Coast, where I lived for six months, and then decided to fly across the country and spend my last month there backpacking with two other crazy South American friends. We had so many memorable adventures heading south from Cairns to Sydney, hopping on and off buses along the way, camping in the middle of a city square or on desert beaches, sailing and snorkeling in the Great Barrier Reef, wearing cowboy hats in the Outback, learning how to surf, seeing exotic animals everywhere and meeting awesome people from all over the world.
Issue you are passionate about: Animal welfare, as well as wildlife and biodiversity conservation, particularly in the Amazon Rainforest. Only this forest concentrates 60% of all forms of life in the planet, which have been threatened by deforestation and other environmental crimes.
Favorite thing about Seattle: Except the weather during winter months, I love everything about Seattle! Top 3 would probably be the gorgeous Mount Rainier views, the variety of outdoor activities we can do around the city, especially during summertime, and how green and progressive it is. Also, Seattle has by far the most amazing skyline I’ve ever seen!
Favorite Quote:   “A man needs to travel. By his own, not through stories, pictures, books or TV. […] A man must travel to places that he does not know to break this arrogance that makes us see the world as we imagine it, and not simply as it is or can be. That makes us teachers and doctors of what we have not seen, when we should be students, and simply go see” – Amyr Klink in “Endless Sea: Alone around Antarctica–As Far South as a Boat Can Sail”
 DSCF1523 FullSizeRender (3) 33789_488205883189_4485385_n  2013-02-14 10.13.34IMG_0037
Leave a Reply

