canon1  canon2

Name: Canon Michael Rupple
Hometown: Edmonds, WA
Undergraduate degree: B.A in Political Science and Social Studies from Western Washington University
Interests:
Clean air
Aesthetics
Bees
Indigo
Mammoths
Foods
Films
Furniture
Sports
Reading
Health and global development
Biking
Music

Why the MAM-SSM Program:  
I joined MAM-SSM to sharpen my foundational business skills and discover ways I can align my interests with the world of business. A one-year master’s program with this much real world application is unheard of and I’m incredibly thankful for the opportunity to collaborate with dynamic individuals to make a difference.

Issue you are passionate about: 
I care about social justice and alleviation of oppression whether that be cultural or propagated by institutions. Everyone’s voice is unique and impactful. I realized this long before I started considering my voice in any professional context. It’s discovered at the lunch table in middle school, the locker room in high school, and the dorms in college. Those experiences define your perspective while simultaneously showing you the power of it. You bear witness to its impact every day. Everyone deserves to be heard and appreciated.

Future goals: 
I am still figuring out where I want to go after graduation. Ideally, I will end up with a company whose mission aligns with my morals and makes a positive impact on the world. The most impactful enterprises are formed on distinct interests, values and viewpoints that have been concentrated into one intentional message that audiences and consumers can connect with.
Wherever I go, one of my goals is to let everyone know that it’s okay to feel like you’re having an existential crisis every day. It’s actually normal. Everyone is confused. My hope is that my colleagues and friends find their purpose, then pursue it aggressively.

Favorite thing about Seattle: 
Where to begin. The mountains, the water, the trees, the city. Not to mention some of the best food and coffee on the planet. Seattle has it all.

Favorite quote: 
“Maybe it meant something. Maybe not, in the long run, but no explanation, no mix of words or music or memories can touch that sense of knowing that you were there and alive in that corner of time and the world. Whatever it meant.” Hunter S. Thompson

Leave a Reply

