Name: Taylor Blaine Pirnke
Hometown: Mill Creek, WA
Undergraduate Degree: B.S in Business Management at Linfield College (McMinnville, OR)
Interests:

  • Traveling Abroad – Studied in Spain and Morocco last year while at Linfield. Understanding new cultures and religions is fascinating
  • Playing Golf – I was a captain of the Golf Team at Linfield. I love playing new courses, improving my game, and enjoying time with friends
  • Spending time with friends
  • Running

Why the MAM-SSM Program: 
I chose the MAM-SSM over MBA programs, because of the opportunities to learn through experiences; not text books. As a business major, I learned a lot of business concepts, but I did not know how to apply them outside the classroom. Thus far, this program has enabled me to think critically about business, and has challenged me to go beyond words and numbers. I also want to perform business in a way that positively impacts many stakeholders.

Issues You Are Passionate About: 
During my undergraduate I minored in psychology, and conducted research on individuals with Schizophrenia. This research and education drives me to find ways for individuals with mental conditions to have meaningful lives. I would love to find new ways to get them working and independent so they can make a difference in the world. I have been blessed to have mental health and I have a deep sense of empathy for those people.

Future Goals: 
Ideally, I would love to work for an organization (within the Seattle Area) that allows me to interact/manage vendors and suppliers. I recently had an internship in operations, and truly enjoyed being the point of contact for large projects with multiple suppliers. Creating meaningful relationships while conducting business would be a great situation for me.

I would also like to work in a company where I can eventually help lead strategic decisions. Understanding market trends, competitor’s situations and other strategic components fascinate me. And finally, I want to work for a company that allows me to have a stable work-life balance so I can eventually have a family of my own.

Favorite Thing About Seattle: 
I love the nature surrounding the city. During the winter, I love to go skiing and during the summer, I love to play golf/hike. Nature is a great place to think and reflect. I also love the seafood and breweries in Seattle!

Favorite Quote:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
-Robert Frost

Leave a Reply

