Name: Annie Eileen Thomas
Hometown: Lake Stevens, Washington
Undergraduate degree: Double Major in Psychology & Sociology
Interests:
Women’s Issues
Snowboarding
Soccer, tennis
Economic empowerment through microfinance in developing countries
Sustainability in big business (energy efficiency, carbon footprint, etc)
Leadership Development
Social and Economic Equality
Friends & Family
FOOD
Music
Reading

Why MAM-SSM:
I chose MASSM because I felt ill prepared to enter the working world right after graduation. I wanted to gain professional skills and learn how I could incorporate my undergraduate degrees in a business setting. The study abroad is also what drew me to the MASSM program.

A social issue you’re passionate about:
There are many, however the issue I’ve been passionate about for a long time is how to change young girls minds about their body and body image. So often society and influential people tell us how we are supposed to look and young girls are so perceptive to those ideals. I want to change that and become a voice of reason, advocacy and passion for loving yourself the way you are, not how someone tells you to look.

Future goals:
Within the next five years, I hope to attain a position in the environmental advocacy sector, consulting or doing research for how commercial buildings and citizens can reduce their carbon footprints.

In the long-term, I hope to start my own non-profit advocating for young girls with body image issues while also consulting business firms on their leadership development and the interactional styles of employees and management.

Favorite thing about Seattle:
My favorite thing about Seattle is probably that there is always something to do and always somewhere that I haven’t explored. Living in a big city is so exciting; there’s always a new restaurant in a neighborhood that I haven’t been to. The spontaneity that Seattle offers is awesome, I love the feeling of being a tourist at tines in my home city.

Favorite quote:
“That which does not kill you makes you stronger” Nietzsche

“This above all: to thine own self be true,
And it must follow, as the night the day,
Thou canst not then be false to any man.” Polonius (Hamlet)

Leave a Reply

