Name: Joshua Banks
Hometown: Mountlake Terrace, WA
Undergraduate degree: Biology – Physiology
Interests: Renewables & Environment, Think Tanks, Sports: Football (Seahawks) & Baseball (Mariners), Companion Animals – specifically: Care & Training, The Human-Animal Bond, Voice-over/Comedic Imitation, Fishing, Camping, Hiking, Exploring the National Parks, Kayaking, Playing Cards, Watching Movies, Photography, People Watching, Mindfulness Meditation, Wine Tasting, Traveling & Exploration.

Why MAM-SSM:
After spending my undergraduate years focused on being accepted to veterinary school, I pulled a complete 180 and decided to pursue a business career. I really enjoyed specific aspects of being a part of the science community – cutting edge discoveries, contributing to meaningful medical developments, designing experiments – but ultimately I was looking for something else. My wife, Kaili Hunsaker, was a part of the third MAM-SSM cohort, so I already knew the value that this program offered for those looking to bridge the gap and build acumen for non-business majors like myself. I chose this program to develop a broad application of my science background, while also improving my competitive skill sets for the current market environment.

A social issue you’re passionate about:
Biodiversity protection and preservation, including animal welfare, are causes that do not have a voice and therefore cannot advocate for themselves. One of the strongest indicators before any mass extinction occurrence has been an exponential decrease in biodiversity levels. Currently, we are seeing an unprecedented amount of biodiversity decrease, which does not bode well for our future.

I believe that the way these issues are handled reflects the true nature of a society. Granted I am not a tree hugging, crazy animal rights activist who wants to overthrow humanity and return the earth to its pre-homosapien conditions. Rather, I believe that Aristotle’s “golden mean” – the middle ground between two extremes – is what we should be striving towards.

Future goals:
Currently, I am looking into careers within management consulting. Two areas that interest me are business strategy and development. Realistically, I am looking to start my career as a junior business analyst or an associate consultant.

Favorite thing about Seattle:
I love all things Seattle, but I have to say that my favorite thing about this city is our champion Seahawks – Go Hawks!!!

Favorite quote:
“How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because someday in your life you will have been all of these.” – George Washington CarverJosh1

Leave a Reply

